• LSUBEAT.com • Schedules • Depth Chart • Recruits • LSU in NFL • LSU Gear

Friday, June 26, 2009

On national championships

Surfing through the Internet last night I stumbled upon a comment from a fan of a college (not LSU) lamenting about what it must feel like to win a national championship every now and then.

Which got me to thinking about LSU.

In 1958, LSU won the national football championship. From 1958 until 1991, LSU won zero national championships in the Big Three sports -- football, men's basketball and baseball. Zero.

Then, when Skip Bertman won LSU's first national title in baseball in 1991, national championships came with a remarkable frequency.

Bertman produced titles in 1991, 1993, 1996, 1997, and 2000. Nick Saban produced a football national championship in 2003. Les Miles added another football title in 2007. And now Paul Mainieri has a baseball title in 2009.

That's eight national titles starting in 1991 after having just one from 1958-1990.

While the national titles have been coming, they should be appreciated by LSU fans. Some people remember those days from 1959-1990.


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Great observation. We should enjoy this period, but maybe we could get used to it, also. As Trent Johnson said when he was hired, "I get it. I can do the math. ... Suddenly I get the message. I understand what they're saying. I really do." That is, national championships have come to be expected at LSU.

6:17 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home